Sunset at the White Cliffs of Dover

Sunset at the White Cliffs of Dover

Sunset at the White Cliffs of Dover

Acrylic on Board.  Size 50 x 50 cms.  Sold.

This painting has taken quite a long time.  Partly because I only paint when I’m at my mum’s and partly because it was difficult.

It was only when I was into the painting that I realised that it is really a picture in two halves.  The top seascape is complete on its own, and the bottom half is a landscape, and that it complete on its own.  What I found so difficult was trying to make the two halves work together.  The colours in the cliffs and sea are completely different from the landscape and the path.  I have tried to introduce the shapes in the sea into the path.  I’m still not sure that it works.  If it doesn’t I can paint over the path again and make it into one simple colour.

I did this painting from a photo by Guy Edwards.  It was a on calendar for this year.  Mr Edwards said that he was happy for me to use his photo, which was very kind of him.  When my mum contacts photographers they have all been very generous and said, yes, I can use their work.  So ‘thank you very much’.

About Tazia Fawley

I started painting seriously about 10 years ago. My main interests are sea-scapes and land-scapes. I live in Somerset in the UK and have had a number of local exhibitions. I enjoy working in acrylic paint and find that it is a versatile medium and sympathetic to my way of working. I am a self-taught painter and am fascinated by colour, pattern and design.
This entry was posted in Sea-scapes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunset at the White Cliffs of Dover

  1. Garth Tucker says:

    It’s a wonderful painting Taz, don’t touch it, leave it exactly as it is. It’s a painting of two complementary halves.

  2. Carole says:

    It works for me, Tazia. I like the fact that it is a picture in two halves

  3. Kay underwood says:

    This picture is breathtaking ! Don’t change a single thing. I think the shapes on the path tie in perfectly with the cliffs.

  4. Rachel says:

    Hello Tazia,
    I really like this painting – often two halves make a whole. Opposites attract. I love the colours and the scene in this painting, but I like it because it makes me think. It makes me think about times when we need to see both sides even if it is easier to see just one. A bit like black/white, day/night, sea/land. I could happily live in either half of your painting, but having both there makes it special and more meaningful. Hope that makes some sort of sense!
    I have a feeling that your paintings could really help people to see things a bit differently, which is a good thing.
    Rachel xxx

Leave a comment