Gylda’s Patio in Winter

Gylda's Patio in Winter

Gylda's Patio in Winter

I have included these four paintings of my mums patio, although I did them some time ago.  I thought that whilst I’m finishing the sea scape it would be good to go back to some of my early work.

It was whilst doing these paintings that I realised I could make things any colour I wanted and that I didn’t have to try to be like a camera.  The paving slabs are really grey and boring, so I decided to paint them in all different colours to make them look more interesting.  This has given me much more freedom to paint things as I want to.  Fortunately other people must have liked what I did, because all four of the paintings have been sold.

About Tazia Fawley

I started painting seriously about 10 years ago. My main interests are sea-scapes and land-scapes. I live in Somerset in the UK and have had a number of local exhibitions. I enjoy working in acrylic paint and find that it is a versatile medium and sympathetic to my way of working. I am a self-taught painter and am fascinated by colour, pattern and design.
This entry was posted in Land-scapes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gylda’s Patio in Winter

  1. Derek says:

    Very interesting to see all four paintings together. I liked the winter version best of all, it captures the magic of snow very well.

  2. Carole says:

    I love this colourful set of pictures. You make the backyard look very vibrant.

  3. Garth Tucker says:

    Hi Taz, I think your free use of colour adds greatly to your four paintings of Gylda’s patio. It is interesting to know this freedom has also influenced the paintings you did after these, all to very good effect I would hasten to say. Love. Garth

  4. michaela williams says:

    This is gorgeous too. I love how the purples, pinks and blue add to the feeling of cold and peaceful, numb, quiet that snow produces.

Leave a Reply

